Vintage Disney

IT’S FINALLY HERE !!

Okay, so ! Having been bed ridden all day with a very infuriating chest infection, with nothing to watch but the bloody snooker, I decided to complete some of the sketches that I’ve been working on for the past two weeks πŸ™‚ After all, you need cheering up as much as I do !

So the idea behind the sketches was to combine two of my favourite passions – Disney and Hollywood Vintage. Most of you might have already guessed from my second post that I am a proud Disney fanatic, but only those who very close to me know that I absolutely adore old Hollywood; that is, any film that features the likes of Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Elizabeth Taylor, Ava Gardener, Cary Grant, Gregory Peck, Vivien Leigh etc, you get the idea ! To me, not only are many of the older Hollywood films amongst the best that have ever been created for the screen (Gone With The Wind anyone ?), but their actresses are some of the most beautiful women to ever exist. You only need to step in my bedroom once to see that I have a slight obsession with Audrey Hepburn – most of my wall is adorned with pictures of her incredible almond shaped eyes and flawless bone structure; to me, she is the most extraordinarily beautiful, sophisticated, feminine, graceful woman that has ever existed

Anyway, I can’t remember where I heard or read it, but apparently a few of the designs for the Disney Princesses were based on the appearance of vintage Hollywood actresses, for example, Cinderella was inspired by Grace Kelly, Belle by Audrey Hepburn etc. So, I decided to do a few sketches of how the Disney Princesses would look if they were dressed in some of the most iconic dresses worn by these beautiful Hollywood actresses πŸ™‚

It’s a bit silly I know, and I’m not the greatest artist in the world (notice the state of the hands !), but it’s an idea I’d been toying with for ages, and I’m quite proud of them to be honest, and I hope you will all like them too ! At the moment, I’ve only done 5 of the 10 Disney Princesses (I’m not including Merida or the Frozen sisters, sorry !), so you’ll have something to look forward to for next time πŸ˜€

 

1. Belle as Audrey Hepburn inΒ Sabrina

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 18.59.07

2. Cinderella as Grace Kelly in Rear Window

Cinderella Grace

3. Rapunzel as Marilyn Monroe in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes

Rapunzel Marilyn

(Note: Yes I know Rapunzel’s ‘Marilyn’ dress is VERY similar to Cinderella’s dress, but by the time I realised I’d already finished the drawing and it’s one of my favourites ! Besides, I think Rapunzel is far more Marilyn-like than Cinderella ! She’s fun, flirty, and sexy ! Cinderella’s a bit boring…apart from her affinity for wildlife….)

4. Sleeping Beauty/Aurora as Kim Novak in Vertigo

Aurora Kim

5. Jasmine as Hedy Lamarr inΒ Samson and DelilahΒ 

Jasmine Hedy

So there we go ! The inspiration for the look of the Princesses came from the Disney Designer Collection that was launched in 2011….despite not managing to get any of the merchandise that came out of that collection, I thought that the designs for the princesses were simply beautiful and so elegant:

Disney DesignerTo create the Vintage Hollywood dress, I used Edith Head’s sketches as my template…as I said, I’m not an artist by nature so I need something to go by ! I absolutely adore Edith Head’s fashion drawings so it was hard to choose which ones I wanted to use ! Rapunzel and Belle were the only ones whose dresses weren’t based on an Edith Head design (I drew them straight from the real-life photos), but here are the other sketches for you to look at:

Kim Novak Hedy Lamarr Grace Kelly

 

3 thoughts on “Vintage Disney

  1. Pingback: Vintage Disney | Tinseltown Times

Leave a Reply

